home Home
faq F.A.Q.
contact Contact
The Patriarchal See
Patriarch Encyclicals Jurisdictions Old Catholic Kalendar  

Old Catholic Province of Our Lady of the Angels

The Province of our Lady of the Angels is a Catholic Community in the Roman Catholic tradition.  We bring the Catholic Faith to all and offer our Sacraments to the Episcopal, Anglo-Catholics, and Roman Catholics.  We draw people from isolation to community, from searching to awakening, from indifference to concern, from selfishness to meaningful service, from fear in the midst of adversity to faith and hope in God.

The Spiritual Communities of the Province of our Lady of the Angels share God's compassionate love with all people. The Province offers a spiritual home to all.

We celebrate God's loving presence in our lives.  In worship and sacrament, especially the Eucharist, we are nurtured and challenged to extend God's kingdom of justice, truth, love and peace by growing in the spirit of Jesus.

Our Clergy provides leadership, enhances communication, contributes to the building of community, and discovers and responds to the needs of the flock of Christ.

St. Willibrord was consecrated to the episcopacy by Pope Sergius I in 696 at Rome. Upon his return to the Netherlands, he established his see at Utrecht. In addition, he established the dioceses at Deventer and Haarlem. The Diocese of Utrecht provided the only Dutch pope Adrian VI in 1552 and two prominent writers on the spiritual life, Geert Groote, who founded the Brethren of the Common Life, and Thomas Kempis, who wrote the Imitation of Christ.

At the request of the Holy Roman Emperor, Conrad II, and Bishop Heribert of Utrecht, in 1125 Pope Eugene III gave Utrecht the right to elect its own bishops, and this was affirmed by the Fourth Lateran Council in 1215. In 1520, Pope Leo X granted to the then Bishop of Utrecht (Philip of Burgundy), that no clergy or laity from Utrecht, would ever be tried by a Roman tribunal. During the Reformation the Catholic Church was persecuted and the Dutch dioceses north of the Rhine and Waal were suspended by the Holy See. Protestants occupied most church buildings, and those remaining were confiscated by the government of the Dutch Republic of Seven Provinces which favoured Calvinism.

The Province of our Lady of the Angels is Sacramental. We believe in the historic Christian doctrines as found in the Nicene Creed, the Apostles Creed, the Athanasian Creed, and the Ecumenical Councils of the First Millenium. We observe the seven Sacraments and hold Apostolic Succession through a number of lines. We welcome all to our churches, fully committed to the mandate of Christ to preach the Gospel to all, and fully mindful of "that which you do to the least of My brethren, you do unto Me."

My Dear Brothers and Sisters in Christ, The Grace and Peace of our Lord Jesus Christ, the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all! Catholic Christians in our lifetime are being presented with an opportunity and a challenge. The opportunity we are given is the chance to affirm the unconditional love of almighty God for people of all nations, cultures and economic conditions in a way not possible before the advent of our present technology and our deeper knowledge about the human condition. Regardless of our differences, the Holy Spirit calls us to celebrate our essential unity as brothers and sisters in Christ and children of a loving God.
 News and events

Saint Catherine's Parish, CA

Saint Albert the Great Cathedral, LA


Our Blogger
Province of Our Lady of the Angels.

The Most Rev. Vincent Quaresima has been Elected to the Patriarchal See of the Old Catholic Province of our Lady of the Angels.
Apostolic Succession
 The Holy Eucharist


We believe the Eucharist, or Mass, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.

   Copyright 2008  Old Catholic Province of Our Lady of the Angels